top of page

Member states: Accelerating the transition to zero-emission vehicles

On 10 March 2021, nine Member States - Denmark, Austria, Belgium, Greece, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands and Lithuania - issued a joint call to the European Commission asking it to propose ambitious and cost-effective measures to support an accelerated and balanced transition to zero-emission vehicles.

Specifically, the nine countries call for: (a) A phase-out date for the sale of new petrol and diesel cars and vans in the EU as an important policy tool to incentivise the transition to zero-emission vehicles; (b) EU legislation that allows member states to take action at national level to incentivise early phase-out of new petrol and diesel cars and vans; (c) Ambitious and cost- effective regulation at EU level, including a significant tightening of CO2 emission performance standards for new passenger cars and new light commercial vehicles; (d) Strengthening the recharging and refuelling infrastructure for zero-emission vehicles.


bottom of page